Newbury & Hobbes: The Undying

On Sale: 3 Apr 2019


[The cover image for Newbury & Hobbes: The Undying]
  • Print
  • Digital

George Mann brings his hit steampunk mystery novels to comics in an all-new adventure for the duo's 10th anniversary, alongside artist Dan Boultwood!


On Sale:
3 Apr 2019
Writer:
Artist:
Dan Boultwood
Type:
Graphic Novel
Format:
Softcover
Collected Issues:
1-4
Series:
Newbury & Hobbes
Diamond Order Code:
NOV181987
Genres:
Action/Adventure
Steampunk
Thriller
Duration:
Miniseries
Extent:
112pp
Frequency:
One-Shot
Isbn:
9781782760399
Age:
12+

Writer George Mann (Dark Souls, Doctor Who, Warhammer 40,000) brings his hit steampunk mystery novels to comics in an all-new adventure for their 10th anniversary, alongside artist Dan Boultwood (It Came!, The Phoenix).

Welcome to the bizarre and dangerous world of Victorian London, a city teetering on the edge of revolution! Airships soar in the skies over the city, ground trains rumble through the streets and clockwork automatons serve the bustling public. But beneath this shiny veneer of progress lurks a sinister side. Queen Victoria is kept alive by a primitive life-support system while her agents Sir Maurice Newbury and his delectable assistant, Miss Veronica Hobbes, do battle with enemies of the crown, both physical and supernatural.

Collects Newbury & Hobbes #1-4, as a brand-new Newbury & Hobbes prose short, written by George Mann!



Reviews

Fans of Alan Moore’s work will enjoy Mann’s depiction of Victorian asylums, slums, aristocratic soirees and things that go bump in the night!

Strange Horizons

Revelations and terror! The series is extremely interesting to a first time reader such as myself, leaving me intrigued enough to delve into the Newbury & Hobbes back catalogue to find out what I have missed.

Flickering Myth

Moody and atmospheric, strong and expressive! This may be my favorite take in steampunk on comics yet, but I do believe that the appeal of this story goes far beyond that.

Major Spoilers

A fun mixture of detective fiction with all manner of steampunk trappings. George Mann’s sense of character beats and mystery is really well drawn out, and Dan Boultwood’s artwork is fantastic! 9.4/10

SciFi Pulse

There is no doubting the talent on show in this book. Fans of Doctor Who or Sherlock Holmes should find enough to quench their thirst!

Comic Crusaders

Like getting to run amok in a steampunk horror house!

Ravenous Monster

© 2019 GEORGE MANN, ALL RIGHTS RESERVED